تاريخ

تاريخ

تم إنشاء 4Winds في الأصل من قبل مجموعة من الأشخاص الذين يستخدمون خدمات الصحة العقلية (المعروفة باسم South Glamorgan User's Alliance) الذين كانوا يقومون بحملات من أجل مورد مستقل بقيادة المستخدم في كارديف طوال أواخر الثمانينيات وأوائل منتصف التسعينيات. كانت خدمات الصحة النفسية المجتمعية (ضمن القطاع التطوعي والقانوني) ضعيفة الموارد في هذا الوقت وكان نطاق واختيار الخدمات محدودًا. لم تكن هناك خدمات صحة نفسية مفتوحة الوصول تعمل في هذا الوقت ؛ ولم يكن هناك أي توفير "خارج ساعات العمل". من خلال التعاون والدعم الذي تم تلقيه مما كان يُعرف آنذاك بمشروع تطوير الصحة العقلية في كارديف وفيل (الآن Cavamh ؛ Cardiff and Vale Action for Mental Health) ، تم تأمين التمويل في عام 1995 من خلال هيئة صحة South Glamorgan (التي أصبحت فيما بعد هيئة الصحة في Bro Taf و Cardiff Local Health Group و Cardiff Local Health Board والمجلس الصحي الحالي لجامعة كارديف وفيل).
تم تعيين مدير المشروع في تشرين الثاني (نوفمبر) 1995 للمساعدة في إنشاء وإدارة مركز موارد الصحة العقلية المستقل بقيادة المستخدم لتوفير مكان اجتماع ترحيبي وخدمات ومعلومات حول قضايا الصحة العقلية. كانت ساعات العمل للتركيز على تلك الأوقات التي لا تلبيها تقليديًا الخدمات القانونية. تم تعزيز روح الاسترداد والتركيز والشمول وسهولة الوصول منذ البداية وكانت الخطة أن المركز سيكون في موقع مركزي يمنح الناس نقطة التقاء يمكن الوصول إليها من جميع الاتجاهات. أعطى هذا المجال للمناقشات حول اسم المنظمة. لم يرغب الأشخاص المعنيون في أن يكون الأمر مرتبطًا ارتباطًا واضحًا بالصحة العقلية ، بل أرادوا أن يكون اسمًا مفتوحًا يسهل التعرف عليه ويعطي هوية فريدة. في البداية ، تمت مناقشة أفكار مثل الزوايا الأربع ، حتى ولدت فكرة 4Winds - ويرجع ذلك أساسًا إلى أن أحد الأشخاص كان لديه ذكريات جيدة عن العيش في منزل بهذا الاسم. لقد تقرر تجربة هذا الاسم كخيار مؤقت وها نحن هنا بعد أكثر من عشرين عامًا مع مركز راسخ يحمل نفس الاسم الأصلي!
عندما كانت 4Winds في مهدها ، شاركت مقرها مع مشروع تطوير الصحة العقلية في كارديف وفيل (الآن Cavamh) وعملت ، من خلال اتفاقية إدارة ، أولاً كجزء من Intervol (الآن Cardiff Third Sector Council ، C3SC) ثم مجلس Vale للخدمات التطوعية (الآن Glamorgan للخدمات التطوعية ، GVS). عمل المدير بشكل وثيق مع مجموعة التوجيه 4Winds ومستخدمي الخدمة المهتمين عبر Cardiff و Vale في تطوير عمل 4Winds. ثبت صعوبة العثور على أماكن عمل مناسبة واستغرق الأمر عدة أشهر من العمل الشاق. إن إنشاء عمل الجمعية بدون مبنى يعني أن التواصل والدعاية المكثفة كان ضروريًا لإعلام وتشجيع مستخدمي الخدمة على المشاركة والحفاظ على مصلحة مستخدمي الخدمة ومقدمي الخدمة. قبل افتتاح المركز ، قام المدير بتسهيل جلسات مسائية مرتين أسبوعياً في اثنين من خدمات يوم الصحة العقلية للسلطة المحلية (تاي كانا وشارع ميتيور). تم الترحيب بهذا واستخدامه جيدًا من قبل مستخدمي الخدمة ؛ كان هذا الدعم الأول من نوعه "خارج ساعات العمل" في كارديف والعديد من المناقشات حول كيفية تطوير خدمة مركز الموارد جرت في هذه الجلسات. تم تحديد أماكن العمل المناسبة في كلير رود ، غرانج تاون ، كارديف ؛ على مسافة قريبة من محطة السكة الحديد المركزية ، وتوافر مواقف للسيارات في الشارع وعلى مسار العديد من الحافلات. كما أنها تتمتع بميزة كونها مقرها في مجتمع متنوع لديه دليل على الحرمان والاحتياجات العالية المتعلقة بالصحة العقلية والمشاكل الصحية الأخرى. إنها منطقة متنوعة ثقافيًا بها مجتمع طويل الأمد من السود والآسيويين والأقليات العرقية (BAME) وهي قريبة جدًا من مجموعة من الخدمات المجتمعية والصحية التي طورنا معها الآن علاقات عمل قوية. بعد تطبيقات التخطيط اللاحقة لمركزنا ليصبح حقيقة واقعة ، وسلسلة من اجتماعات الشبكات ، والتدريب لمستخدمي الخدمة لتشجيع المزيد من المشاركة ، وتعيين الموظفين وتطوير الإجراءات التشغيلية ، تم افتتاح المركز في مارس 1997 (تم تحقيق الاستقلال الكامل في سبتمبر 1998 عندما سجلنا كشركة خيرية).
كانت الاستجابة للخدمة ساحقة. خلال الأيام الثلاثة الأولى من الافتتاح ، دخل 150 فردًا إلى المركز. استمر المركز في استخدامه بشكل جيد ، حيث يصل عدد الأشخاص الذين يصلون إلى المركز يوميًا إلى 30 شخصًا. كان المركز مفتوحًا في الأصل لمدة أربعة أيام في الأسبوع ويعمل به مدير المشروع وعاملان في المشروع وعامل إداري بدوام جزئي. تمت زيادة ساعات عمل المركز تدريجياً إلى سبعة أيام للفتح استجابةً والتشاور مع مستخدمي الخدمة وبعد تأمين تمويل إضافي للعمال. استمر المركز في النمو والتطور على مر السنين مقدمًا مجموعة من الخدمات. للمزيد من المعلومات ……..
كانت الاستجابة للخدمة ساحقة. خلال الأيام الثلاثة الأولى من الافتتاح ، دخل 150 فردًا إلى المركز. استمر المركز في استخدامه بشكل جيد ، حيث يصل عدد الأشخاص الذين يصلون إلى المركز يوميًا إلى 30 شخصًا. كان المركز مفتوحًا في الأصل لمدة أربعة أيام في الأسبوع ويعمل به مدير المشروع وعاملان في المشروع وعامل إداري بدوام جزئي. تمت زيادة ساعات عمل المركز تدريجياً إلى سبعة أيام للفتح استجابةً والتشاور مع مستخدمي الخدمة وبعد تأمين تمويل إضافي للعمال. استمر المركز في النمو والتطور على مر السنين مقدمًا مجموعة من الخدمات. للمزيد من المعلومات ……..
arArabic

History

History

4Winds was originally set up by a group of people using mental health services (known as the South Glamorgan User’s Alliance) who had been campaigning for an independent user-led resource in Cardiff throughout the late 1980’s and early to mid-1990’s. Community mental health services (within the voluntary and statutory sector) were poorly resourced at this time and the range and choice of services was limited. There were no open access mental health services operating at this time; nor were there any offering ‘out of hours’ provision. Through a collaboration with and support received from what was then known as the Cardiff and Vale Mental Health Development Project (now Cavamh; Cardiff and Vale Action for Mental Health), funding was secured in 1995 through the then South Glamorgan Health Authority (later to become Bro Taf Health Authority, Cardiff Local Health Group, Cardiff Local Health Board and the current Cardiff and Vale University Health Board).
A Project Manager was appointed in November 1995 to help set up and manage an independent, user-led mental health resource centre to provide a welcoming meeting place, services and information on mental health issues. The opening hours were to focus on those times not traditionally catered for by statutory services. The ethos of being recovery focussed, inclusive and accessible was fostered from the beginning and the plan was that the centre would be in a central location giving people a meeting point that could be reached from all directions. This gave way to discussions about a name for the organisation. The people involved did not want it to be anything with an obvious association with mental health, but rather an open, easily identifiable name that would give a unique identity. Initially, ideas like four corners was discussed, until the idea of 4Winds was born – mainly because one of the people had good memories of living in a house with that name. It was decided to try that name as a temporary option and here we are well over twenty years later with a well-established centre with the same original name!
When 4Winds was in its infancy, it shared premises with the Cardiff and Vale Mental Health Development Project (now Cavamh) and operated, through a management agreement, firstly as part of Intervol (now Cardiff Third Sector Council, C3SC) and then the Vale Council for Voluntary Services (now Glamorgan Voluntary Services, GVS). The Manager worked closely with the 4Winds steering group and interested service users across Cardiff and the Vale in developing the work of 4Winds. Suitable premises proved difficult to find and took several months of hard work. Establishing the work of the Association without a building meant that extensive networking and publicity was necessary in order to inform and encourage service users to get involved and to maintain the interest of service users and service providers. Prior to the centre opening the Manager facilitated twice weekly evening drop-in sessions at two Local Authority Mental Health Day Services (Ty Canna and Meteor Street). This was welcomed and well used by service users; it was the first ‘out of hours’ support of its kind in Cardiff and many discussions on how the resource centre service would be developed took place in these sessions. Suitable premises were identified in Clare Road, Grangetown, Cardiff; within walking distance of the central rail station, on-street parking availability and on the route of many buses. It also had the advantage of being based in a diverse community which has evidence of disadvantage and high needs relating to mental health and other health problems. It is a culturally diverse area with a long standing Black, Asisan and Minority Ethnic (BAME) Community and is in close proximity to a range of community and health services which we have now developed strong working relationships with. Following the ensuing planning applications for our centre to become a reality, a series of networking meetings, training for service users to encourage further involvement, recruitment of staff and development of operational procedures, the centre opened in March 1997 (full independence was achieved in September 1998 when we registered as a charitable company).
The response to the service was overwhelming. During the first three days of opening, 150 individuals accessed the centre. The centre continued to be a well used resource, with up to 30 people accessing the centre daily. The centre was originally open for four days a week and staffed by the Project Manager, two Project Workers and a part-time administrative worker. The opening hours of the centre were gradually increased to seven-day opening in response to and in consultation with service users and after securing extra funding for workers. The centre has continued to grow and develop over the years offering a range of services. For more information ……..
The response to the service was overwhelming. During the first three days of opening, 150 individuals accessed the centre. The centre continued to be a well used resource, with up to 30 people accessing the centre daily. The centre was originally open for four days a week and staffed by the Project Manager, two Project Workers and a part-time administrative worker. The opening hours of the centre were gradually increased to seven-day opening in response to and in consultation with service users and after securing extra funding for workers. The centre has continued to grow and develop over the years offering a range of services. For more information ……..
en_GBEnglish